Tektronix 2440

The Tektronix 2440 is an end-80s digitising oscilloscope (list price: 11,500$). It features 300 MHz equivalent-time or 200 MHz real-time sampling bandwidth and a rare analog peak value detector. It detects the signal minimum and maximum between two sampling points, making the display look a bit more like an analog scope with a filled area between both extremums – independent of the sampling rate. This peak detector simplifies the usage of the DSO, having only 500 Msps, by eliminating aliasing artifacts.

The cathode ray tube is also worth mentioning, since it is not a cheap TV tube (as in many newer scopes) where the graticule is drawn by the electron beam, but a real analog scope tube with a flat face plate and fine, etched marks on it. As many as 1024×1024 dots are displayed on the 10×10 cm area, much more than most modern cheap DSOs with 640×480 or 800×600 dots.

The roll mode at slow time bases is nice gimmick: The displayed waveform moves continuously leftwards instead of being rebuilt completely. It looks like those life sign montors in hospitals that make the known “beep” in many TV series.But being a relly nice scope, in the case of an error, it does not simply “beep”, but produces a real “bing” like an old typewriter bell. Using a Loudspeaker instead of a cheap beeper: This are the small details that maket this device lovely.

Oh, and it’s also a usability wonder! Even though it has soft keys. It is not as nice as my 465B, which uses a distinct lever or button for every function, but far better than some competitors. For example, pressing a key multiple times triggers a per-key default function like cycling the trigger mode with the trigger key. So, the soft keys are only used infrequently. In contrast, on a HP 54622D, they totally screwed up the user interface: For every function (e.g. changing the trigger mode or input coupling), you have to press the function’s key and then the corresponding soft key. Often multiple times, as the soft keys cycle through the available choices from top to bottom. So switching between auto and normal trigger is enerving: Trigger → click, Trigger → click, click, click, Trigger → click, …

The display flickers if the processor load is high. So, you instantly see that the device is thinking. It always reacts promptly, except in the “AUTO LEVEL” mode where it really gets stuck for almost a second.

But there is no light without shade: The repetition rate is simply disappointing, because the processor and A/D converter are old and slow. In comparison, my 465B displays up to 360,000 waveforms per second, the 2440 only does 26. Not 26,000. And that is the fastest, at a medium time base of 100µs. If the time base is decreased to 2 ns/div, it goes down to 10 Wfm/s. This is simply ridiculous, you won’t find any scarce glitch with this gear.Furthermore, like an old analog scope, you have to wait some minutes until the scope has warmed up and the equivalent-time sampling works as expected.The calibration takes time and requires precise voltages, an adjustable 250 MHz signal generator (100 MHz also works, use 500 ns as time base for generating the beat waveform) and a fast-rise pulse generator (74AC logic gate seems to work, but my derived calibration is not perfect).I also calibrated the CCDs, which didn’t improve the waveform display as much as I hoped. But it is simple as long as you stick to the service manual.A real drawback is the small waveform buffer of 1024 dots per run. There is no real scrolling inside the buffer, it is only two screens wide. You have to use the B time base to search inside the live display for interesting parts, like I do with my old 465B.

But the fan! It is really loud. Not only compared to my 465B, where it is only noticable in total silence. The 2440 is like a small jet, drawing permanently 160 Watts that have to get out of the device as hot air. Luckily, the fan is large and you mostly hear the noise of the air flow, but not the fan itself.

The charge-coupled devices (CCD) are an interesting detail: They work like the CCDs inside cameras, with the difference that the signal is serially clocked in in this case with 500 MHz, distributed onto four “sides” (mostly identical parts) of the CCD, moved forward by control electrodes that move the stored charge forward one bucket at a time. Each side contains a bit more than the required 256 buckets, summing up to 1024 sampled values that are clocked out slowly after the waveform was captured. This is slow enough for the A/D converter to digitise them.The CCDs are analog devices that have to be calibrated with five pots for each channel and many calibration constants inside the firmware. Most of them are automatically adjusted, the rest is described in the service manual. Including how the CCDs work in detail.

How it all started

In spring 2011, this Tektronix 2440 found its way to my lab. Failing a self test, it was cheap.

  • 4000 FPP FAIL

Specifically: 4723 U360BT FAIL, part of 4700 BATT FAIL. U360 holds the stored waveforms for later recall and is the unimportant of the two NVRAMs. U644, the other NVRAM, stores the calibration constants. Losing them requires you to do an “extended” (complete!) calibration.

The pictures showed that the scope produced reasonable results at least for large time bases.

Battery

Attention: There is an easier way to replace the batteries with coin cells. The following old text mainly serves documentary purpose.

Hopefully, it is only a dead battery. Right, Dr. Schneider. But how to cure this? With a new battery? Exactly!

As suspected, it is not this easy. Tektronix replaced the standard print-type Lithium thionyl chloride cells that may be desoldered and replaced easily and only cost a few Euros by SRAMs with an integrated battery. Model: Dallas Semiconductor DS1235BWL-120.

It saved Tektronix a few components, but makes it much more difficult for us: The battery is grouted, you have to either buy a new module for only 45€ at your favorite chip shop or replace the battery. Being a poor student, I desoldered both NVRAMs and searched the battery by trial and error (it resides at the bottom!) and cut it out.

DS1235 teardown

DS1235 teardown

I used a Proxxon tool with the cheapest corunum cutting wheel. The produced dust is fine and should perhaps be filtered.Fixate the NVRAM in a vice, slowly remove the grouting until you hit the left battery and its top soldering tag.There are two batteries, but the left one has fewer grouting that surrounds it.Pay attention to the soldering tag, it must not be cut through!Damaging it requires more grouting removal, thus more work to connect the negative terminal! It is not strictly necessary as it is identical to the NVRAM’s GND pin, but a bit of caution won’t harm.Separate the tag from the battery with a screwdriver and bend it away.Now continue removing the battery by cutting trench into it as the grouting prevents easy removal. Don’t cut too deep, you can destroy the PCB below the battery!Ignore any sparks from a still charged battery.Carefully removing the grouting left (side at pin 1) of the battery aids to judge how deep the battery is when cutting it. And afterwards, the cables run through this groove.Use the trench to grip the battery with a pair of pliers and twist it inside, breaking it free from the grouting. This was the large battery cap.The small cap at the bottom is the positive terminal and is not solderable!Use the groove left of the cap, extend it if necessary (carefully, remember the PCB below!) and lift the cap with a screwdriver from the left.The soldering tag separates from the cap and may now be soldered to the positive supply wire.The second battery remains fully grouted, for future use.Afet soldering both leads is done, clean the module and bend the pins in line, if needed.

Fixing the second module, I cut to deep, of course, hitting the PCB. Only one trace was cut, the negative battery terminal. Therefore you see only on wire leaving this module. The other one got an improvised pin 1 (yellow wire under blue tape) because I started my search for the battery at the top side, not the bottom. And removing the top cover, I accidentally broke it off.

The new battery is installed in a holder, mounted with a screw onto an existing hole in the processing PCB. The small extra PCB contains only two Schottky diodes, a Z diode, resistor and capacitor. The NVRAMs are either supplied by the battery or the power supply, limited to 3.6V.Strangely, the NVRAMs draw more current from the battery when they are powered by the scope and active.I hope to extend the battery life by bypassing it when the scope is running.

The processor PCB has soldering points in the shown area that carry 5V and ground and a point where the scope senses the battery voltage.The modifications of to use the self-powered NVRAMs (see manual changes) are partially reversed so that the scope may sense the battery voltage again.The jumper over the original battery’s place and another jumper (see manual; this re-enables the voltage sensing) is removed.

The circuit is not as nice as it should be, but works like a charm.Well, excluding the cheap sockets that I used for the NVRAMs. I still heard the voice of the Segor shop man, how he exchanged tons of those cheap sockets to the more expensive precision sockets because of reliability problems. Keep that in mind.This prevented the scope from starting at the beginning at all or with strange errors. Bending the NVRAM’s pins solved that (at first).

Battery circuit

Battery circuit

corresponding PCB

corresponding PCB

Processor PCB

Processor PCB

Odd behaviour when turning off

A few seconds after the oscilloscope is turned off, the LEDs and the screen flickers. I am sure that this does not extend any circuit’s life, but this problem was postponed.

Some Saturday in August 2011

Errors always occur together

2440 plays possum

2440 plays possum

It did work yesterday, but today after I switched it on: Nothing happened.

If this was not enough, on the same day, my lab computer and multimeter also stopped working.

Being at a loss, I read the service manual and traced down possible errors for hours. Unfruitfully, of course.Ignoring severe typos in the manual, everything worked as it should.

It works!

It works!

Remembering the Segor guy, pulled the NVRAMs from their sockets and erased them.Whohoo, it works again. So it is either a loose contact or the scope does not boot with a corrupted NVRAM. The corruption could even arise from the turn-off anomaly.

Doesn’t matter, I ripped out the el-cheapo sockets and re-soldered the NVRAMs directly to the PCB. The scope still works.

Power supply

So, since the scope is still taken apart, let’s fix the tun-off anomaly. This really got on my nerves over time.

Removed 10 screws and bolts, the power supply PCB, put it into a holder and connected it to an isolating transformer. Keeping distance to mains-powered circuits and touching them with at most one finger is a good precaution. Measuring, tracing the schematic, colouring it, thinking, measuring, thinking again.

If I am right about the schematic, then there is nothing that prevents the scope from flickering after the turn-off.I may have missed a detail in the schematic that caused the fault in my power supply.

1/4W resistor added

1/4W resistor added

However, the switching power supply’s auxiliary voltage declines after turning it off, the power supply stops working, but the buffer caps are still charged to 150 Volts. They re-charge C244 via R223 until the auxiliary voltage is high enough that the supply restarts. But the buffer caps are depleted and the auxiliary voltage breaks down again. This can be seen as flicker.

The simplest solution is to add a load to the auxiliary voltage so that the 150 Volts of the buffer caps do not suffice to build up the auxiliary voltage.

So simply solder in a 27kΩ ¼ Watt as described. And then miss the flickering after you turn the scope off.But now, your scope takes three seconds more until it tuns on. There’s no free lunch.

This phenomenon is not special to my scope, it is a “property” of this series, as somebody of the mikrocontroller.net forum acknowledged.

Bottom line

If you repair something, do it right. Never use those cheap sockets. If an error occurs, fix it immediately.

More pictures

Graphics generation and time base are located on the top side, below resides the processor PCB. The tube is located in the middle inside a steel tube, the power supply is covered by a metal plate. The thin ribbon cable deliveres the graphics signal to the tube amplifier (unseen). The bottom side is dominated by many red Wima-brand capacitors, the gain cells amplifying the CCD signals are to the left bottom. The CCDs themselves are below horizontally-ripped heat sinks and get so hot that you have to cool them actively (done by the fan below the scope). Above reside the peak detectors and the input preampfifiers.So, the signal path is more or less visible.To the top right is the preamplifier for both trigger inputs. Right of the CCDs is the trigger circuit.Below the blue pots for adjusting the CCD clocks is the trigger logic and the CCD clock generation, under black heat sinks.

Top

Top

Middle

Middle

Bottom

Bottom

2015-01-25: Short circuit

Electronics on strike

Electronics on strike

After about a year, I turned on my Tek 2440 again. Ten seconds after it starts up an I begin my work, the picture shrinks down to 2×4 ticks and is scrambled (sigh).

The self-diagnosis at start-up blinks the error code:

2120 DCOK U654

DCOK, so the supply rails might be not OK. This could explain why the picture shrank to a quarter its normal size. At first, I thought the power supply is at fault. All analog voltages were at about ±0.7V. But the power supply seemed to work if I disconnected some PCBs. So it’s not the power supply, right? Indeed, the +15V rail shows a short circuit with < 1Ω resistance on PCB A11 (time base/display output). To locate the device at fault, I connected a power supply to the single, disconnected PCB and drove the faulty rail with 3A at about 1.5V. But nothing got how for a few minutes. So I looked at the service manual, searching for devices connected to this rail. It was only common ICs, easy to get if they were faulty. Still, nothing got warm on the PCB. A look at my power supply showed no current flowing. So, the fault simply disappeared. -.-

It might have been a broken Tantalum cap, a normal electolytic cap or a tin whisker on the PCB. I don’t know, unfortunately. At least, I know where to start searching again if the problem reoccurs.Then, I might check every single cap on the board to pin down the problem.Until now, it suffices to say: The Tek 2440 is alive again—let’s see for how long. ;-)

2017-05-02: Folgefehler

And so it happened again. The 2440 stayed black. The switching power supply only clicked, but didn’t start up.

Short circuit in 1

The power supply didn’t start up because a positive power rail had a short circuit. With the help of a thermal camera and an external power supply, I could locate the short: It was a Tantalum cap on the time base/display PCB. Unfortunately, I burned the short while locating it. That led to a rise in voltage on that single rail, without the other rails being powered properly. After replacing the broken cap, the 2440 was half dead: It turned on, but didn’t show a trace or run the self test.

Companions

Companions

When I got my Tektronix 465B out to debug the 2440 further, it also failed on me. So I took the chance to get another cheap Tektronix 2440 (called “2” afterwards) for little money. It was used, not fully working, but complete.

Replacing batteries in 2

What a surprise: Also the second 2440 had dead batteries in the NVRAMs. Apart from that, it seemed to work.

So let’s do it again: Cut open the package, get out a battery and solder some copper leads onto the contacts. Bend the thick leads over and solder a battery connector to it. It’s that easy! Also, it looks much better than my first try.

the work space

the work space

battery surgery

battery surgery

NVRAM, 2017er edition

NVRAM, 2017er edition

works again

works again

Calibrating 2

Now it was time to calibrate the second 2440. I took the time to also calibrate the CRT. You can watch all the great features of the vector display that way: Not only its big resolution, but also its capability to solidly fill rectangles on screen. Beautiful!

Another step during screen calibration, step 6.5, is not part of the handbook. I don’t know what the pattern is used for, but it’s a nice surprise.

After calibration, the second 2440 works fine.

without frontplate

without frontplate

calibration of tube; solid fill

calibration of tube; solid fill

easter egg?

easter egg?

Reviving 1

By exchanging PCBs, I narrowed down the problem to the processor PCB. Measuring further showed that some logic levels were invalid: voltage too low. The Processor also got quite warm and was the only thing that seemed to load those data lines. So I exchanged the CPU and guess what: The scope worked again!

I knew from the start that I grilled something by messing with a power rail to locate the short. That just killed the processor, I learned.

on the hunt for a failure

on the hunt for a failure

more hunting

more hunting

last failure: CPU

last failure: CPU

Tektronix 2440

Frontansicht

Frontansicht

Das Tektronix 2440 ist ein altes Digitaloszilloskop, gebaut ab 1987, Neupreis 11500 $. Es überzeugt mit 300 MHz (Äquivalenzzeitabastung) oder 200 MHz (Echtzeitabtastung) Bandbreite. Eine Seltenheit ist der analoge Spitzenwertdetektor: Durch ihn werden Maximum und Minimum des Signals zwischen zwei Abtastpunkten erfasst und ähnlich wie auf einem Analogoszilloskop als Fläche auf der Röhre dargestellt – unabhängig von der Abtastrate. Der macht das DSO trotz seiner geringen Abtastrate von 500 Msps sehr angenehm zu nutzen, wenn man Alias-Artefakte ausschließen muss.

Schön ist auch die verbaute Oszilloskopröhre, weil sie keine billige Fernsehröhre ist, auf der dann Linien gezeichnet werden, sondern eine aus Analogoszilloskopen bekannte Röhre mit planer Front und geätztem, feinem Raster. Die Anzeige kann 1024x1024 Punkte auf 10x10 cm Anzeigefläche darstellen. Dagegen sehen die billigen DSOs mit 640x480 oder 800x600 Punkten immer noch schlapp aus.

Eine lustige Spielerei ist der Roll-Modus bei langsamen Zeitbasen, wodurch sich die Anzeige kontinuierlich nach links verschiebt anstatt sich komplett neu aufzubauen, wie bei diesen Vitalzeichenmonitoren in Krankenhäusern, die im Fernsehen bei jedem Herzschlag „piep“ machen. Natürlich macht das Oszi im Fehlerfall nicht einfach nur „piep“, sondern „bing“, wie eine alte Schreibmaschinenklingel. Lautsprecher statt billigem Pieper: Das sind die kleinen, netten Details, für die man das Gerät mag.

Oh, und die Bedienung! Trotz Softkeys ist die Bedienung angenehm. Nicht so toll wie beim 465B, wo es für jede Funktion einen Hebel oder Knopf gab, aber um Meilen besser als bei ausgewählter Konkurrenz. Beispielsweise löst jeder wiederholte Druck auf eine Taste eine bestimmte Funktion aus, beispielsweise wechselt man so mit der Triggertaste die Triggermodi. Dadurch sind die Hauptfunktionen ohne Softkeys schnell erreichbar. Bei einem HP 54622D weiß ich nicht, was die Entwickler geraucht haben, aber es war offensichtlich nicht gut: Für jede Pupsfunktion (Triggermodus ändern, Kopplung der Eingänge umschalten) muss man erst eine Funktionstaste und danach noch den passenden Softkey drücken, oft mehrmals, weil man die Liste hinter einem Softkey nur von oben nach unten durchgehen kann. Wechselt man immer zwischen Auto- und Normaltrigger, so drückt man sich die Finger wund: Trigger → Tipp, Trigger → Tipp, Tipp, Tipp, Trigger → Tipp, …

Die Anzeige flackert je nach Prozessorlast ein wenig, aber so weiß man gleich, dass das Gerät nachdenkt. Die Bedienung ist aber immer flüssig, nur im „AUTO LEVEL“-Modus hakt es richtig.

Wo Licht ist, ist natürlich auch Schatten: Die Wiederholrate ist verdammt gering, nicht zuletzt, weil der Prozessor und A/D-Wandler halt alt und lahm sind. Mein Tektronix 465B schafft unter guten Voraussetzungen gut 360.000 Wellenformen/Sekunde, das 2440 gerade einmal 26. Und das in der Mitte, bei einer Zeitbasis von 100µs. Bei 2 ns/div bricht die Geschwindigkeit auf 10 Wfm/s ein. Ja, das kann man ehrlich erbärmlich nennen, damit möchte man keine Glitches suchen. Leider muss man zudem einige Minuten warten, bis das Gerät warm ist. Zuvor bekommt man ein eher mäßiges Bild bei Äquivalenzzeitabtastung. Die Kalibrierung ist auch anstrengend und erfordert neben präzisen Spannungen auch eine einstellbare 250-MHz-Quelle (100 MHz tun es aber auch, Zeitbasis dann auf 500 ns stellen, um die Schwebung zu erzeugen) sowie einen Spannungspulsgenerator mit steilen Flanken (74AC-Gatter scheint zu funktionieren, aber eventuell ist meine Kalibrierung deswegen nicht perfekt). Und ich habe auch schon die Eimerkettenspeicher neu kalibriert, was das Bild leider nicht so weit verbessert hat wie ich wollte. Die Kalibrierung halbwegs einfach, solange man dem Handbuch folgt. Es werden leider nur 1024 Punkte pro Durchgang abgetastet, man kann also nicht bildschirmweise im Puffer rumsuchen, sondern muss mit der einstellbaren B-Zeitbasis im Livebild nach dem Interessanten suchen. Das war ich schon vom 465B gewohnt.

Der Lüfter ist verdammt laut! Mein altes 465B hat auch einen, aber den hört man nur bei totaler Stille. Dagegen ist das 2440 ein richtiger Fön und zieht dauerhaft satte 160 Watt. Glücklicherweise hört man dank des geradezu riesigen Lüfters aber fast nur das Rauschen des Luftstroms und nur sehr wenig vom Lüfter selbst.

Die Eimerkettenspeicher (EKS) sind ein Kapitel für sich: Im Englischen heißen sie wenig sagend „charge-coupled devices“, was einen wohl zuerst an die CCD-Bildsensoren denken lässt, die sehr ähnlich funktionieren. Hier werden mit 500 MHz die Abtastwerte abwechselnd in eine von vier „Seiten“ (fast identische Teile) des EKS gestopft, wo sie dann durch Steuerelektroden immer einen Topf pro Takt weitergeschoben werden. Es passen etwas mehr als 256 Werte auf jede Seite, so erhält man insgesamt seine 1024 Abtastwerte, welche nach dem dem Aufnehmen aller Werte langsam herauspurzeln, sodass sie der A/D-Wandler danach ganz gemächlich digitalisieren kann. Das ganze ist analog und muss daher mit über 5 Potis pro Kanal und einer Vielzahl von Kalibrationswerten in der Software abgestimmt werden, der Großteil wird von der Firmware erledigt und der Rest ist im Handbuch gut beschrieben. Auch, wie die diese EKS denn genau funktionieren.

Ausgangszustand

Im Frühling 2011 kam das Tektronix 2440 zu mir. Sein Vorzug lag vor allem im geringen Preis, da sein Selbsttest diesen Fehler lieferte:

  • 4000 FPP FAIL

Spezifischer: 4723 U360BT FAIL, Teil von 4700 BATT FAIL. U360 speichert die aufgenommenen Kurven zum späteren Abruf, es ist das unwichtigere der zwei verbauten NVRAMs. U644, das andere, speichert nämlich die Kalibrierungskonstanten, ohne die man erstmal einen kompletten Kalibrierungsdurchlauf durchführen darf.

Die Bilder suggerierten auch, dass das Gerät zumindest bei größeren Zeitbasen plausible Werte liefert.

Die Batterie

Hoffentlich nur eine leere Batterie. Ja, richtige Diagnose, Dr. Schneider. Doch wie kuriert man so etwas, etwa mit einer neuen Batterie? Ja, natürlich!

Wenn ich das so schreibe, ist’s wohl einfacher gesagt als getan. Tektronix kam vor einer Weile auf die Idee, statt einfacher bebeinter Lithiumthionylchloridzellen, die man auslöten und durch eine wenige Euro teure neue ersetzen kann, SRAMs mit integrierter Batterie einzusetzen, Modell Dallas Semiconductor DS1235BWL-120.

Was Tektronix einige Bauteile sparte, macht einem jetzt umso mehr Arbeit: Da die Batterie im SRAM-Modul vergossen ist, darf man entweder ein neues Modul für 45€ bei der Elektronikversandapotheke kaufen oder die alte Batterie ersetzen. Da ich nicht Krösus bin, habe ich beide RAMs ausgelötet, mit Versuch und Irrtum nach der Batterie gesucht (sie ist auf der Unterseite des Moduls) und diese herausgeschnitten:

DS1235 wird zerlegt

DS1235 wird zerlegt

Ich habe einen Proxxon-Schleifer mit den billigsten Korundscheiben verwendet. Der entstehende Staub ist verdammt fein, ein Atemschutz schadet bestimmt nicht. Man spannt das SRAM-Modul in einen Schraubstock und trägt von unten die Vergussmasse ab, bis man auf z.B. die linke Batterie und die obere Lötfahne stößt. Es gibt zwei Batterien, die linke ist aber näher am Rand dran und macht uns somit weniger Arbeit. Achtung, die Lötfahne sollte unbedingt ganz bleiben! Wenn sie ab ist, muss man nur noch mehr Vergussmasse wegfräsen, um den Minuspol anzulöten. Eigentlich ist der Minuspol in der Endversion nicht nötig, weil er identisch zum Masseanschluss des SRAMs ist, aber ein wenig Feingefühl kann nicht schaden. Wir trennen die Lötfahne mit einem Schraubenzieher von der Batterie und klappen sie weg. Nun geht es mit dem Entfernen der Batterie weiter. Leider ist sie verdammt fest vergossen, weshalb wir einen Schlitz in den Metallbecher schneiden. Dabei keinesfalls zu tief schneiden, unter der Batterie ist eine Leiterplatte mit vielen Leiterbahnen, die man nicht reparieren möchte! Oh, und wenn die Batterie noch nicht leer war, dann funkt es beim schneiden, aber wer das SRAM so malträtiert, der sollte auch davor keine Skrupel haben. Vorher trägt man links (Seite zu Pin 1, in jedem Bild markiert) etwas Vergussmasse ab, um die Kabel dort herauszuführen und besser einschätzen zu können, wie groß der Batteriebecher ist. Hat man den Schlitz gemacht, kann man den Becher mit der Zange greifen, nach innen verbiegen, so von der Vergussmasse trennen und herausziehen. Es bleibt die untere Kappe der Batterie, der Pluspol. Eh es jemand probiert: Das Material dieser Kappe ist nicht lötbar, die Kappe muss weg. Hier nutzen, dass wir schon links genug Material abgetragen haben, um mit einem Schraubenzieher unter die Kappe zu kommen und sie hochzuhebeln. Wenn nicht, mehr abtragen, immer an die Leiterbahnen darunter denken. Die Kappe von links unten hochhebeln, sodass sich die Lötfahne von ihr löst, und die Präparation ist abgeschlossen. Die zweite Batterie bleibt vergossen, für die Zukunft. Feuern wir den Lötkolben an, holen Kabel, das lang genug ist (an der Prozessorplatine abmessen, damit es passt) und löten das positive Versorgungskabel an den Pluspol (unterer, zum SRAM-Die zeigende Seite), isolieren den Kontakt mit Klebeband. Der Minuspol (obere, zu den Pins hin gerichtete Seite) wird dann angelötet und auch isoliert. Fertig ist das Modul. Ausspannen, reinigen, Pins gerade biegen, falls nötig.

Bei einem der Module habe ich natürlich in einem Moment des Träumens zu tief gesägt, rein in die Platine. Und tot war der Minuspol der Batterie, weswegen bei einem Modul nur der Pluspol herausgeführt wurde. Dass das andere Modul einen improvisierten Pin 1 hat (gelber Draht unter dem blauen Klebeband) liegt daran, dass ich die Batterie erst auf der Oberseite des Moduls vermutet und beim Entfernen der Vergussmasse diesen Pin abgebrochen habe.

Die neue Batterie bekam einen Halter, der mit einer Schraube in einem schon vorhandenen Loch befestigt wurde. Die kleine Zusatzplatine beherbergt eigentlich nur zwei Schottkydioden, einer Z-Diode mit Widerstand und Kondensatoren. So wird entweder die Spannung von der Li-Batterie oder, wenn vorhanden, eine auf 3,6V begrenzte Betriebsspannung aus dem Netzteil an den Batteriekontakt der SRAMs gegeben. Komischerweise zieht das SRAM mehr Strom, wenn es über die normalen Beinchen mit Strom versorgt und benutzt wird, als im Ruhezustand. Daher überbrücke ich für eine noch längere Batterielebensdauer einfach die Batteriespannung, wenn möglich.

Auf der Prozessorplatine gibt es an der gezeigten Stelle Lötpunkte, an denen 5V und Masse anliegen und sich auch ein Messpunkt für die Batteriespannung befindet. Die Schaltung des Geräts wird insofern zurückgebaut, dass es wieder die echte Batteriespannung messen kann. Die Drahtbrücke über der Einbaustelle der unbestückten Originalbatterie auf der Platine muss entfernt werden, und noch eine andere Drahtbrücke (hinten im Handbuch gucken, welche das ist, damit die Batteriespannung vom Oszi gemessen werden kann).

Die Konstruktion sieht leider nicht so schön wie erhofft aus, aber sie funktioniert hervorragend. Also, äh, bis auf die Billigfassungen, in die ich die SRAMs anfangs steckte.Ich hatte noch die Stimme des netten Segor-Verkäufers im Ohr, der erzählte, wie er damals Massen alter Billigfassungen wegen Kontaktproblemen durch Präzisionsfassungen ersetzen musste. Doch dazu später. Deswegen startete das Oszi anfangs nicht oder schmiss die komischsten Fehlermeldungen. Das Nachbiegen der SRAM-Beinchen half erstmal.

Schaltung für Batterie

Schaltung für Batterie

Platine dazu

Platine dazu

Prozessorplatine

Prozessorplatine

Der Kalibrator

Kein Rechteck

Kein Rechteck

Leider liefert der Kalibrator bei der höchsten Frequenz (5 MHz) kein Rechteck, sondern nur diese komische Wellenform (siehe Bild). Entweder ist Q831 oder U831 defekt, für U831 müsste man die untere Platine mit den Eimerkettenspeichern ausbauen, da hatte ich bisher wenig Lust drauf. Aber wahrscheinlich komme ich nicht drum herum.

Die Ausschaltanomalie

Wenige Sekunden nach dem Ausschalten blitzten die LEDs und der Bildschirm noch einmal kurz auf. Also für die Bauteile ist das bestimmt nicht gesund, aber das Problem wurde auf später verschoben.

Ein Samstag im August 2011

Ein Fehler kommt selten allein

2440 stellt sich tot

2440 stellt sich tot

Gestern noch benutzt und nach langer Spielerei mit dem Kabelradar ausgeschaltet, heute angeschaltet und es passiert: Nichts.

Als wäre das nicht genug, hat sich in zuvor am gleichen Tag auch noch mein Bastelrechner und ein Tischmultimeter verabschiedet.

Hmpf, ratlos das Wartungshandbuch rausgekramt, nachgeschlagen und stundenlang befolgt. Ergebnislos, natürlich. Bis auf blöde Tippfehler im Handbuch funktionierte alles wie es sollte.

Es lebt wieder!

Es lebt wieder!

Wieder die Stimme des Segor-Verkäufers im Ohr, also die SRAMs raus aus den Fassungen, Spannung abschalten, gelöschte SRAMs einstecken, anschalten. Geht. Juchu. Hmm, entweder ein Wackelkontakt, oder das Oszi weigert sich, mit korruptem SRAM-Inhalt zu starten. Die Korruption kann ja durch diese Ausschaltanomalie kommen.

Egal, raus mit den Billigfassungen und die SRAMs wieder direkt eingelötet. Oszi startet immer noch.

Netzteil

So, wenn wir das Ding schon offen und halb auseinandergenommen haben, können wir uns auch gleich um diese Ausschaltanomalie kümmern. Das nervt mich jedes Mal, und jetzt ist das Netzteil fällig.

10 Schrauben und Bolzen gelöst, die Netzteilplatine rausgenommen, in einen Halter eingespannt und mit dem Trenntrafo versorgt. Immer schön Abstand halten, höchstens mit einem Finger anfassen. Messen, den Schaltplan verfolgen, bunt anmalen, nachdenken, messen, weiter nachdenken.

Wenn ich den Schaltplan richtig deute, dann wird dieses Aufblitzen nach dem Ausschalten auch durch nichts verhindert. Vielleicht habe ich auch irgendeine Feinheit im Schaltplan und damit den eigentlichen Fehler in meinem Netzeil übersehen.

1/4W-Widerstand reingelötet

1/4W-Widerstand reingelötet

Jedenfalls bricht die Hilfsspannung des Schaltnetzteils nach dem Ausschalten zusammen, dadurch stellt es die Arbeit ein, aber die Pufferelkos am Eingang sind noch auf 150V geladen. Dadurch laden sie C244 der Hilfsspannungsversorgung über R223 wieder auf, bis die Hilfsspannungsversorgung sich und damit das restliche Schaltnetzteil wieder aktiviert. Das sieht man. Danach ist die Spannung der Pufferelkos gering genug, dass die Hilfsspannung nicht mehr genügend hoch wird.

Die einfachste Lösung ist also, die Hilfsspannung im Leerlauf etwas mehr zu belasten, sodass die 150V der Pufferelkos nicht ausreichen, um die Hilfsspannung ausreichend aufzubauen.

Also einen Widerstand, 27kΩ und ¼ Watt, rein, und nach dem Ausschalten ist Ruhe. Der Nachteil sei nicht verschwiegen: Durch die zusätzliche Last braucht das Oszi drei Sekunden länger bis es angeht.

Übrigens ist dieses Phänomen kein Fehler meines Geräts, sondern eine Eigenschaft der Baureihe, wie mir im mikrocontroller.net-Forum bestätigt wurde.

Fazit

Wenn etwas repariert wird, dann richtig: Finger weg von den Billigfassungen. Wenn einem ein Fehler auffällt, sofort beheben. Ansonsten rächt es sich.

Mehr Bilder

Auf der Oberseite sitzt die Grafik- und Zeitbasiserzeugung, darunter unsichtbar die Prozessorplatine. Die Mittelebene liefert einen Blick auf die teilweise mit einer Metallplatte verdecke Netzteilplatine und die Röhre im Metallmantel. Das dünne, ungeschirmte Flachbandkabel links ist transportiert das Grafiksignal zur Ansteuerung der Röhre (Platine im Bild unten quer montiert, unsichtbar). Die Unterseite wird links von den vielen roten Wima-Markenqualitätskondensatoren dominiert, links unten sind die Verstärkerzellen, die die Ladungspakete der EKS verstärken. Diese befinden sich rechts unter den horizontal gerippten Kühlkörpern und werden so heiß, dass sie im Betrieb zwingend aktiv gekühlt werden müssen – deswegen bläst ihnen der Lüfter unten viel Luft zu. Darüber befinden sich die Extremalwertdetektoren und die Vorverstärker der beiden Eingänge. Man kann also den Signalweg sehr gut nachvollziehen. Ganz rechts oben versteckt sich der Vorverstärker für die beiden externen Triggereingänge. Rechts der EKS steckt ein Triggermodul für die beiden Eingänge. Unterhalb der blauen Potis zur Feinjustage der EKS-Eigenschaften sitzen noch die Triggerlogik und ein Modul zur Takterzeugung für die EKS unter schwarzen Kühlkörpern.

Oberseite

Oberseite

Mittelebene

Mittelebene

Unterseite

Unterseite

2015-01-25: Kurzschluss

Arbeitsverweigerung auf Elektronisch

Arbeitsverweigerung auf Elektronisch

Nach bestimmt einem Jahr schaltet man mal wieder sein Oszi ein, will loslegen – doch 10 Sekunden später bricht das Bild zusammen. Na toll. Die Stimmung sinkt.

Die Selbstdiagnose blinkt beim Start den Fehler:

2120 DCOK U654

Aha, DCOK. Versorgungsspannung nicht OK. Würde erklären, warum das Bild nicht bildschirmfüllend ist. Ich habe erst einmal das Netzteil in Verdacht gehabt, weil alle Spannungen für den Analogteil bei ±0,7 Volt lagen. Aber irgendwie schien da alles zu funktionieren, wenn man einige Platinen abgeklemmt hat. Also doch nicht das Netzteil? In der Tat, die +15-Volt-Schiene zeigte mit < 1Ω einen Kurzschluss, der von Platine A11 (Zeitbasis/Grafikerzeugung) verursacht wurde. Solche Fehler lassen sich am schnellsten thermisch finden, also flugs ein Netzteil an die Schiene angeschlossen und die einzelne Platine, ohne jede Verbindung, mit 3A bei ca. 1,5V beaufschlagt. Leider wurde trotzdem erst einmal nichts warm. Also abwarten und mal im Handbuch gucken, was so alles zwischen der 15-Volt-Schiene und Masse hängt. Aha, nur Kleinkram, der einfach zu bekommen sein sollte. Aber es wird noch immer nichts auf der Platine warm. Kein Stück. Ein Blick aufs Netzteil offenbart, dass der Strom auf Null gesunken ist. Der Fehler ist also weg. -.-

Ob es ein Tantalelko, ein normaler Elektrolytkondensator oder Whisker auf der Platine war – ich weiß es leider nicht. Doch wenn der Fehler wiederkommt, weiß ich, wo ich anfange zu suchen. Dann werde ich vielleicht doch Kondensator für Kondensator prüfen. Bisher bleibt nur zu sagen: Das Tek 2440 funktioniert – bis zur nächster Macke. :-D